Orange & Greek Yogurt Bread

I love making quick breads. They are just so simple and fast to throw together, and they are good to make ahead at the beginning of the week, and store in the fridge as easy-to-heat breakfasts. This past week, I made a quick bread with oranges and greek yogurt. It’s actually very similar to a traditional pound cake (which I LOVE), without all the extra fat! (For those of you who don’t know, pound cakes were traditionally made with a 1:1 cup ratio of all the ingredients… this means that 1C of flour calls for 1C of sugar (!!!!!), which also calls for 1C of butter….insane if you ask me!!)

So consider this as the “healthier” alternative inspired by a pound cake. By the way, I LOVE LOVE LOVE greek yogurt!!! My favorite brand is Fage… such a better texture than Chobani, in my opinion.

The ingredients
As with any kind of quick-bread, you want to make sure that you separate the wet and dry ingredients. This helps minimize gluten formation, and keeps the texture nice and fluffy. Here I have the dry ingredients separated in a bowl and whisked together.
Then you whisk the wet ingredients together until everything is nicely mixed.
Now you just want to add the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, and just mix until everything is incorporated. You do NOT want to overmix when making a quick bread!!!! This develops way too much gluten and will not produce the kind of bread that you want! It will cause the product to be very dense, and will not leaven it correctly!
I switched to a wooden spoon to help reduce the chances of over-beating.
Then you pour the batter into a loaf pan. I finally got to use the Paula Dean loaf pan that my aunt bought me over Christmas break! 🙂
 And…. ta-da! Look at how beautifully it turned out! This provided breakfast for a week, and is a great make-ahead item for college students 😉
Thanks to: sprinklebakes
Add a Comment

