recent pics from insta + easy recipes

Man, this week has been crazy…… I’ve seriously been so swamped with school that I feel so strangled with no room to breathe, and it’s not even finals week yet! This week pretty much consisted of:

  • 2 presentations
  • 1 research paper
  • 2 lab practicals
  • 2 final exams
  • 2 other exams
  • 5 quizzes
  • 17 hours of work

More “real” posts to come once I’m done with finals, but for now, here’s a glimpse of what I’ve been making (all of these pictures are taken from my instagram)

Image

This has been my favorite breakfast lately…whole grain toast with three scrambled egg whites (seasoned with bragg’s, pepper, & mrs. dash seasoning), a 1/4th of an avocado, and of course…sriracha! With a cup of tea or coffee on the side and fruit of choice. I’ve only been getting ~3 hours of sleep lately (sleeping at 1 and waking up at 4am to study), and this is what helps me get through the mornings 🙂

Image

Of course I still gotta keep up with my meal planning even when I’m busy!!!!!! For the week, I made 7 packaged meals on Sunday. Basically it consisted of brown rice, fresh green beans, serving of sweet potato, half an avocado, and either a serving of boiled, shredded chicken breast or half a tilapia fillet. Simple and clean is the way to go, y’all. And gotta stay nutritionally prepared even when you’re busy. Making a week’s worth of meals literally only took 2 hours! No excuses

Image

What lunch or a snack typically looks like. Whole grain toast with tuna salad (I made the tuna salad using canned tuna, greek yogurt in place of mayo, and various seasonings. Mix together and store in a tupperware for about a week or so), half an avoacdo, and cherry tomatoes. I seriously love tomatoes……I bought a huuge box of cherry tomatoes from Sam’s club this past week and it was gone in like…3 days… -_- And I know it looks like I’ve been eating a lot of avocados lately, but they’re actually all only 1/2 or a 1/4th of an avocado. Gotta get in those essential omega fats!


Image

LOVE when my man makes me food! ^_^ Sometimes I’m just too tired to cook and wanna get treated too! This is spaghetti aglio e olio (basically spaghetti with olive oil and garlic.. simple but classic) with parmesan cheese and chicken breast. ‘Twas delicious, I say 🙂


Image
I made some cookie dough a couple of weeks ago, and had them stored in the freezer for awhile. Well you know me, I love to take study breaks by baking!! So one day I decided to whip these out of the freezer and bake a batch…tastes like those chessmen cookies from milano

Image
This is actually an old picture of my famous mint-brownie cookies that I reposted just recently. I am obsessed with anything that is mint chocolate!!!! And these cookies that I use to make all of the time were ALWAYS a crowd pleaser with everyone who had them!

Image
In my food delivery systems class, the past three weeks consisted of lab practicals that count as exam grades. Basically, in a nutshell, we are to plan and coordinate a meal that meets a third of all the nutrients for various age groups. This is a picture of the first round of practicals, which was designed to fit a low-income family with the nutrition requirements of a 20 year old woman. And this whole meal costed about $1.10 per serving, I believe! Something to think about next time you think about how “expensive” it is to eat healthy…it is actually much, much, MUCH more expensive to eat out all the time, rather than prepare your own food at home!

Image
More study breaks by baking cookies.. hehe

Image

Gotta have my muffins :’) Hey…at least they’re healthy!

Add a Comment

