5 Things I’ve Been Loving Lately~

Wow! It’s been awhile since I’ve updated this blog with an actual food-related post.
My favorite season (Fall) is almost here…and you know what that means…
Fall (Julia’s favorite season) = Julia baking a lot = more pictures = more blog posts. It will come! I promise!!! But for now, I thought I would share some things that I’ve been loving lately.

Image

1. Carrots and Hummus
This has seriously been my favorite snack of the semester thus far. I have gone through tubs and tubs of hummus…and I’m not even exaggerating! If you don’t know what hummus is, it’s basically a Middle Eastern dip that is made by blending chickpeas with olive oil, tahini, garlic, lemon juice, salt, and other spices. Because its main ingredient is chickpeas, hummus is rich in protein and fiber. Beans in general have been linked to various health benefits, such as the ability to lower blood cholesterol and prevent cancer. Hummus provides vitamins and minerals as well, including calcium, iron, and folate. And best of all…it’s a low-calorie alternative to your favorite dip or spread! And the olive oil adds a bit of healthy fat into your diet as well.
Hummus can be eaten with lots of things. Personally, I like to eat it with carrots, pita chips, or pretzels. 

 

Image
2. Pumpkin Spice Coffee

It’s no secret that I am a lover of coffee and a lover of all things relating to the fall season. One of my favorite things about fall is the presence of pumpkin everywhere! I am a huge fan of anything relating to pumpkin scents or flavors…especially in my coffee! I got these pumpkin spice K-cups for my Keurig at Target (my favorite store). It is seriously so good and just feels right, now that we are in the month of October 🙂

 

Image
3. Pluots

Pluots are a fruit that is a hybrid between a plum and an apricot. I’m not exactly sure where you can find these…I found mine at a local Sam’s Club a while back, but when I went back to buy some more, they didn’t have them anymore! Must be a seasonal fruit. Anyways, these are so good! If you happen to come across them, definitely give them a shot!

 

Image
4. Crock-Pot

I bought a crock pot a couple of months ago, but honestly, never really used it that much. But now that fall is almost upon us, I will definitely be taking this slow cooker out of storage and into use. There is just something so comforting about hearty, warm, bold meals when it comes to the weather getting cold and the days getting shorter. I was actually craving some Asian-style beef noodle soup this past weekend, so I pulled out the crock-pot and threw some ingredients together, let it cook overnight, and woke up to a pot of perfectly cooked stew 🙂 Here is a pic: 
Image

 

Image
5. Chai Latte

If you know me, you’ll probably know that I am definitely a fan of Chai tea and Chai-flavored drinks in general (see picture of my chai tea muffins). These K-cups are SOOOOO good! The spiciness and milkiness that it adds is just perfect

 

Add a Comment

