Whole Wheat Brown Butter Pumpkin Belgian Waffles

Teehee. TEEHEE. It’s been awhile, guys. Truth is… I’ve honestly been cooking and baking a lot… I’ve just been so busy with school/work/life that I haven’t found the motivation or the energy to write blog posts.. :/ But you guys can check out (most) of what I make on my Instagram and follow me on there! And also, let me know what kind of posts yall are more interested in. Recipes? Nutrition education? Etc? Here’s some stuff I’ve been making recently:

Image
Apple Cider Glazed Donut Holes

Image
Turkey & Beef Chili

Image
Pumpkin Bread!! (Of course…)

 

Anyways, back to this post. Anybody who knows me can probably vouch for me when I say that my favorite kind of food is breakfast food. I’m totally one of those weirdos who can eat cereal or oatmeal or scrambled eggs at any time of the day and be satisfied. Tonight I randomly had a craving for waffles (which I definitely prefer over pancakes), so I decided to make a batch that I could store in the freezer and pop into the toaster during the week. Since I’ve been into this whole pumpkin craze cuz of the fall season, I decided to make pumpkin waffles with whole wheat flour, for a “healthier” alternative. As for the brown butter… it’s just something that goes so perfectly this time of the year with anything baked or… in this case, even not baked. When you brown butter, it really kind of gives it a different flavor and aroma, making it more nutty than buttery. To get this recipe, keep on reading.

Image

Whole Wheat Brown Butter Pumpkin Belgian Waffles Recipe

  • 6 Tablespoons butter, unsalted (it’s REALLY important that you use ACTUAL butter here, and not “light” butter, or any other butter alternative that has been “watered down”. The reason being is that when you heat it and try to brown it, it will end up NOT browning! The oil and the water will not mix together due to the hydrophobic nature of the oil…instead, they will “fight” with each other, and you will end up with one hot and dangerous mess! Trust me on this one, as I may or may not have had a personal experience with it…it’s actually quite scary when your “light” butter just explodes on the stove and splatters everywhere!)
  • 2 1/2 C whole wheat flour – this is optional, but is what I used. You could, of course, use AP flour or a blend between AP and whole wheat, if you’re not acquired to the taste of whole wheat flour.
  • 1/3 – 1/2 C brown sugar – depending on how sweet you want your waffle. You could also use white granulated sugar if you would like, but I prefer brown sugar, especially in the fall time.
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • ~ 1 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice – I didn’t actually measure this out, I just dumped a lot in, since I’m a huge fan of PPS.
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 C pumpkin puree – this is a little over half of a standard 15 oz can
  • 2 C almond milk – you could use whatever milk you prefer, but I always use almond milk for… pretty much everything
  • splash of vanilla – ~1 tsp?
  • 4 eggs

Instructions:

  1. Put the butter in a saucepan and heat on medium-low heat until it melts. Keep on stirring and heating past the melting point for a couple of minutes, until the color changes to a golden-dark brown color. But BE CAREFUL NOT TO BURN THE BUTTER! If you’ve never browned butter before, you might want to do a google search on how to do this, and what colors to look out for. Also, it is very important that you keep the heat on a medium-low and not high.
  2. Once the butter is melted/browned, skim off any foam residue, and transfer to a heat-safe bowl and allow to cool.
  3. Meanwhile, mix your dry ingredients together (flour, sugar, BP, BS, salt, PPS, cinnamon)
  4. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the pumpkin puree, milk, eggs, vanilla extract, and brown butter. Pour the dry ingredients into the wet and keep whisking until there are no more lumps.
  5. Heat up your waffle iron and make waffles as you normally would.
  6. Once waffles are done, you can either eat them immediately or allow to cool and store in plastic freezer bags. 
1 comment
  1. Rachel said:

    How do you make stew/chili…. So bad at cooking.

Add a Comment

