an UPDATE

For those who say I never post….. sorry heh.
Here’s an update for you guys filled with photos of what I’ve been making, just for kicks. Subscribe/comment and I’ll be more motivated to actually write real posts!

Screen Shot 2014-09-03 at 7.48.32 PM
Coffee cream macarons brushed with dark cocoa. The shells are coffee flavored. The filling is mostly a buttercream filling with a hit of strong coffee. These were soooooo. goooood. I’ve been really into macarons lately, and I’m planning on experimenting with different flavors this month 😀

 

Screen Shot 2014-09-03 at 7.51.51 PM
Mint brownie cookies. If you’ve known me for awhile now, you’ve probably had these at least once or twice. Definitely a staple of mine. Posted this pic on reddit a couple of days ago, and it conjured up a lot of traffic, so I thought I’d share with you guys. BTW, if yall HAVEN’T had these cookies before… ask me to make some for you!!! They are seriously so divine.

 

Screen Shot 2014-09-03 at 7.48.58 PM
Baked cinnamon donuts with a vanilla cream cheese glaze. I got a donut pan awhile back, and went through a phase where I was really into baked donuts. Coupled with a good glaze, this was definitely a hit.

 

Screen Shot 2014-09-03 at 7.49.15 PM
Browned butter nutmeg donuts w/ a dark cocoa glaze. I love using browned butter in my baking, and it just goes so well with nutmeg. When I was thinking of a glaze for these donuts, I basically just worked with what I had at hand at the moment, which conveniently, happened to be dark cocoa powder. Whipped up a glaze and these donuts were delishuus.

 

Screen Shot 2014-09-03 at 7.49.33 PM
Blueberry cheesecake cupcakes. I made these for a work party back in June when blueberries were on sale. Thought to myself – “blueberries…and cheesecake! Cuz who DOESN’T like cheesecake?!?!” and came up with this recipe. Success.

 

Screen Shot 2014-09-03 at 7.49.44 PM
Strawberry lemonade cheesecake cupcakes. I don’t know why I never thought of this combination before. These were also made for the work party mentioned above. The cupcakes were so lemony and perfect for the summertime. Made a glaze to accentuate the strawberry and the lemon flavors.

 

Screen Shot 2014-09-03 at 7.50.25 PM
Kale & italian sausage soup. I’m a huge fan of soup, and an even bigger fan of one-pot dinners. This was so spicy, hearty, filling, and healthy. And the best part? LEFTOVERS FOR THE REST OF THE WEEK! 😀

 

Screen Shot 2014-09-03 at 7.50.06 PM
Mediterranean-inspired pasta salad. Basically just threw together some leftover greek pasta I had made with some mixed greens, feta cheese, balsamic, and sun-dried tomatoes. The result was a huuuuge success. Probably one of my tastier creations yet.

///

Well that’s about it for now. Til next time~

xoxo JO

1 comment
  1. OK, Julia – I will be in TX in October. One event will be going to Dallas to hear Jeffery’s concert. Any chance your mint brownie cookies or your macarons freeze well? If so, and you go home before I go to TX, what are my chances of getting a taste of either the cookies or macarons? They sure sound delicious!

Add a Comment

