macaronz!

Oh. My. Goodness.
This week marks the first week of me actually selling some of my goods at Baylor. To kick it off, I decided to sell salted dark cocoa nutella macarons. For those of y’all who have no idea what a macaron is…it’s basically one of the most tedious and challenging pastries to make! What makes it such a frustrating treat is that everything before/during/after the process has to be EXACT. Your ingredients need to be measured out in grams. You need to process them for at least 15 seconds. You need to sift the flour mixture. You need to age your egg whites at room temperature overnight. You need to have the right environment – two humid, and you end up with a mess. You need to allow for a resting period. You need an exact idea of how your oven temperature works. You need to know when your macaronage is mixed exactly right – undermix by just a few strokes, and you’ll end up with peaked tops and hollow shells. Overmix by just a few strokes and you’ll end up with a runny batter that doesn’t hold its shape during the resting period. But most importantly… you need to make sure that your shells develop some nice feet, the defining characteristic of macarons so difficult to perfect that make places like Laduree and Pierre Herme stand at ladders above its competitors and allow them to charge crazy high prices for this French pastry.
Being that it was only my first week, I definitely underestimated the number of orders that I would get. For three nights straight, it was just me, my food processor, my hand-mixer, and a whole lot of mess in the kitchen for hours and hours, trying desperately to make sure that I met my deadline. So. Exhausting. Here’s some photos to capture the moments.

Shells during the resting period. These are just two trays of shells out of about……… 60. Gives you an idea of how much work I had. Plus, not to mention that each macaron requires TWO shells… so basically it was never-ending.
IMG_6586    IMG_6585

Shells after baking. Yay, they developed feet! It’s always so frustrating when just one thing goes wrong and your ENTIRE BATCH is rendered useless. I’ve definitely learned to joy of having successful batches.
IMG_6590    IMG_6589   IMG_6588

Yay for packaging!
IMG_6587   IMG_6577

The result of 5+ hours of work on the last night.
IMG_6584

The final product. So0o0o0o0o chocolatey
IMG_6562

Anyways, I’m thinking about making this baking thing a weekly thing, where I only sell one item each week. Honestly, as exhausting as it is for me, it’s actually so much fun! (I am such a foodie nerd like that). Plus, I get more motivation for even more recipe development, and I get to do what I love. Seriously so thankful for everyone who ordered this week. The numbers blew me out of the water! Definitely was not expecting too much of a hit at all.

Oh, and if anyone has any specific requests that you would like me to make, definitely let me know, and I’ll see if I can come up with a pretty good recipe for it that’s suitable for mass orders as well.

Love you guys!~

xoxo JO

2 comments
  1. Victoria said:

    This is so cool! I appreciate your creativity and diligence. I had no idea how difficult it was to make macaroons. As a fellow nerd/food enthusiast I think this is such a cool endeavor! Way to be awesome and SIC EM! You should think about opening up a stand at the Waco farmers market.

    • thanks for the support! i actually had contacted the Waco farmers market a year ago about opening up a stand, but at the time, they were only accepting vendors who used EVERYTHING from local producers… i.e. locally grown flour, locally grown sugar, etc. they said to check back in a couple of months, but i never did!

Add a Comment

